A stately Austin mansion
47 Rooms / 19 Suites
The property formerly known as The Mansion at Judges’ Hill underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation and reopened as Hotel Ella in September 2013. The original structure is deeply rooted in Texas history. In 1846, it was purchased by Dr. Thomas Dudley Wooten, one of the founders of the University of Texas, who then gifted it to his son, Goodall, and new wife, Ella, in 1900. As their family continued to expand, they began a major renovation that transformed the property into the grand Greek Revival structure it is today.
Ella Wooten was known throughout Austin for her hospitality, culinary talent and impeccable taste. Hotel Ella strives to carry on her legacy by preserving much of the architecture, while giving the interior design a modern yet elegant lift. Guests are greeted by a wraparound veranda, beveled glass windows and grand stone columns that were carved by the same mason who built the Biltmore Mansion in Asheville. While Ella hired Neiman Marcus to redecorate her home in the 1920s, this time around, owners connected with architect Michael Hsu for outside help with getting the structure looking its best.
Organic patterns tastefully surface in the form of damask carpeting and flocked wallpaper, juxtaposed with very clean lines and subtle colors. The interior is bathed in shades of neutral grey, brown and slate blue, with pops of color from a blue velvet chaise lounge and mustard throw pillow. Black and white photos of notable Austinites grace the walls of the bar and parlor. Marble sculptures can be found around the property, starting with a larger-than-life Chanel purse at the entrance. These carefully curated works of art, while for sale, are also intended to be conversation pieces.